Wild, Wysocki and Randall Elected to Wisconsin Potato Industry Board

Wild, Wysocki and Randall Elected to Wisconsin Potato Industry Board

Three potato growers will begin three-year term July 1.

Three potato growers were elected to the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board according to the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. These elected members will serve on the board from July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2014.

Tom Wild of Antigo, District 1, and William Wysocki of Plover, District 2, were re-elected to the board. Heidi Randall of Friesland, District 3, was newly elected as a write-in candidate.

Farmers who grow and sell potatoes on five or more acres in Districts 1, 2, and 3 were eligible to vote by secret ballot. The elections were held from March 21 – April 9.

Other members of the nine-member Wisconsin Potato Industry Board include:

District 1: John Schroeder of Antigo and Keith Wolter of Antigo (Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties)

District 2: Donald Isherwood of Plover and Clifford Gagas of Custer (Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca and Waushara counties)

District 3: John Bobek of Markesan and Dennis Zeloski of Lake Mills (Adams, Buffalo, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago and Wood counties)

Wisconsin harvested 61,500 acres of potatoes in 2010, growing 2.4 billion pounds. Wisconsin ranks third in the nation in potato production. The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board is responsible for managing over $1,000,000 in grower-funded promotion and research funds for potatoes annually.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.