DATCP Announces WMMB Election Results

DATCP Announces WMMB Election Results

New directors will start three-year terms July 1.

Ben Brancel, Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, certified the results of the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board 2011 Board of Directors election on May 9.

There were 12 candidates running for nine board member positions. Of the 4,672 dairy producers in the election districts, 14.6% returned valid mail-in ballots. That number is down from 25.6% in 2010 and 16.7% during the 2009 elections. Each licensed dairy operation within the affected district received one vote.

Beginning July 1, the following dairy producers will begin to serve a three-year term as elected members of the WMMB:

District 1
 Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Rusk, Sawyer and Washburn Counties

Benjamin Peterson, Four Cubs Farm, Grantsburg, WI

District 4
Barron and Polk Counties

Lyle Jensen, Jens-Gold Farm, Amery, WI

District 7 
Clark County

David Bangart, Viaduct Holsteins, Greenwood, WI

District 10 
Brown, Door and Kewaunee Counties

John T. Pagel, Pagel's Ponderosa Dairy, Kewaunee, WI

District 13 
Buffalo, Pierce and Pepin Counties

Lanette Harsdorf, Trim-Bel Valley Dairy, Beldenville, WI

District 16
Fond du Lac, Green Lake and Marquette Counties

David Schmitz, Schmitz's East Branch Dairy, Fond du Lac, WI

District 19 
Columbia and Dodge Counties

Michael Scott Zastrow, West Crest Dairy, Mayville, WI

District 22   
Grant County 

Mary Wackershauser, Wack-E-View Registered Holsteins, Lancaster, WI

District 25 
Green, Rock and Walworth Counties

Stacy Eberle, Eb-Acres, Monroe, WI

WMMB directors guide the organization's finances, formulate and set its policies and long-range business plan, and maintain its mission: To help grow demand for Wisconsin milk by providing programs that enhance the competitiveness of the Wisconsin Dairy Industry.  Through these initiatives, a WMMB director has the opportunity to represent Wisconsin dairy farmers and products, as well as to become involved in activities that inform and educate consumers.

Source: DATCP

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.